The 100: #86 The Trench

“When you’ve got a great trench on, what’s underneath isn’t so important.”

I wanted to start my quest for the 100 with the trench, because it’s one of the pieces I already have and I looooooove it. If I could only pick one thing from the 100 list, the trench would be it. Heck, it doesn’t even matter what you wear under it. You could just pair a trench with a pair of killer heels or boots and that’s that.

The original trench was created as a raincoat for British soldiers during WWI. When the soldiers returned from war, they took their Burberrys (yes, Burberrys) with them. Since then, the trench has been a British institution, a film-noir mainstay, and a style staple for men and women.

It’s definitely a classic. Just think of Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Humphrey Bogart in Casablanca, Catherine Deneuve in The Umbrellas of Cherbourg.

The classic trench

I go for the original khaki, but every now and then I see a great colored trench (my mom has one in a gorgeous spring coral). Nina Garcia says you could go for gold lamĂ©, but I’m not so sure about that…have you ever seen anyone besides a grandma from New Jersey pull that off?

Miss Nina suggests Burberry for your traditionalists (surprise, surprise) and Gap or Juicy Couture for bold colors. I got super lucky with my trench: I stumbled upon an Elie Tahari version at Marshall’s, of all places. I spent a grand total of $60 on it, which I couldn’t pass up after I saw the retail price of $400. It’s lined, double-breasted, and belted, and it’s made of sturdy, water-resistant cotton that doesn’t wrinkle. It was totally worth every penny (and then some)!

For those of you who have a few thousand to spend on a trench (yeah, right), you could go for an updated version of the original Burberry. If that’s a little ridiculous (and I don’t blame you), Gap and Jones New York make some cute ones, and I’d highly recommend Tahari. You can also find a fun print from Anthropologie or Stella McCartney. But I’m a traditionalist when it comes to the trench, so I’d stick to neutrals and classic silhouettes.

Trenches

1. Classic trench coat from Gap 2. Cotton twill trench by Burberry 3. Brit packable trench by Burberry 4. Trench coat by Robert Rodriguez.

2 Comments to “The 100: #86 The Trench”

  1. I have got some amazon $$’s maybe find a good one there! I also called my grandma today to see if she had any old broaches to pass along =)

Leave a Reply

