A confession, some Christmas cards, and a pretty sweet deal for bloggers

I have a confession to make. This past May, when Jon and I were flying back from our honeymoon in Italy, I started working on our Christmas card.

It’s true! We had an amazing collection of engagement photos and a ton more wedding photos on the way. I couldn’t wait to use them on a Christmas card.

Now, I have to admit–I’ve never been a big fan of the cheesy photo cards. My family never sent cards for the holidays (is that weird?) and we certainly never got dressed up and stood in front of a Christmas tree for a family portrait. But this year, I’m thinking of changing all that (well, at least the part about sending cards), thanks to Shutterfly.

I’ve been perusing Shutterfly’s holiday cards today, and I’m having a hard time narrowing it down to just one design! I’m thinking this will be our final choice:

Swirls and Dots Holiday Card by Shutterfly

But instead of using a straight photo of us, I’ve been playing around with some ideas in Photoshop, to give our card a little extra oomph. I think this is what our version will look like:

What do you think? I still need to play around with the size and spacing, but I’m totally liking this.

Another cool thing about this card? It was created by Blonde Designs, whose founders Angie Gubler and Kristin Rees used to work for Martha Stewart Living and Martha Stewart Weddings. All you have to do is say Martha Stewart and I’m sold!

Blonde Designs has a whole line on Shutterfly, including this bright folded card

Love Peace Joy Holiday Card

…this colorful calendar card for businesses (which would come in handy for me, but I can’t tell you why just yet)…

…and a ton of address labels and invitations. You can find all their designs here.

So what are your favorites? Are you sending holiday cards this year? I’m getting pretty excited about ours. Although next year, I think I’ll try my hand at a stop-motion holiday video. (But I’m certain that will take a whole lot more time than choosing a card from Shutterfly!)

FYI: I’m receiving 50 free holiday cards from Shutterfly thanks to this post. Bloggers, if you’re interesting in doing the same, sign up here.

One Comment to “A confession, some Christmas cards, and a pretty sweet deal for bloggers”

Leave a Reply

