Lordy…I guess hairstyles are tougher than I thought?

I finally got to do my trial hair and make-up last night. I walked in with this photo from Mary Jane Photography and asked for a loose and wavy low side chignon:

Something simple and classic, and still beautiful and romantic. It seems pretty easy, right?

Well, when all was finished and the stylist had convinced me that it looked great, I took off home to take some photos. (You know, in those nice salons they keep the lighting dark and you’re pulled away from the mirrors so you can’t really see what they’re doing to your hair anyway!)

So I like the hairstyle from this view:

And this one looks pretty cool:

And I even like the weaving she did at the top:

But I do not at all understand how this is a low chignon (and this is the second version after I asked her to lower it a bit):

My mom used to talk about hair looking like a rat’s nest–and I think this must be what she meant! :( This is WAY messier than I expected. And I never thought of my wedding as being messy.

I was pretty bummed about it the rest of the night (and still am today). Which makes me feel even worse. It’s just hair; I know it shouldn’t bother me. But it’s just so not what I want–or asked for. Oof.

I took my hair down after shooting those photos and started playing around with it to see if I could come up with anything better. I even like this clipped-back ponytail more than what they did in the salon:

I think this will be my backup plan…although if I go to get my hair styled I’d really like to keep it that way for the rest of the day! I suppose the only thing to do is find more photos of what I want to the back of my hair to look like. Like this:

Yes, that will be much better. I hope we can pull this off next Friday. What do you think?

Tags:

2 Comments to “Lordy…I guess hairstyles are tougher than I thought?”

  1. Aw man, sorry to see that you didn’t get what you asked for. I hope my recommendation was not the creator… ;)

Leave a Reply

