The good with the bad

It’s been a week, and I still haven’t recovered from our trip to Connecticut last weekend. We were supposed to be there by midnight on Friday night, but–due to a crazy nor’easter–we landed 13 hours later in a different airport. We rebooked flights four times and were STILL late for the bridal shower Jon’s mom and aunt were throwing for me. The guests had been there for an hour and a half by the time we arrived, so to keep everyone from waiting too long, I immediately sat down in front of a room full of women I’d never met and opened more gifts than I could count, and then everyone left before the trees took another power line down. Oh, but not before I posed for pictures wearing the ribbon hat (apparently a shower tradition). There are photos of that somewhere, but I have no plans for gracing my blog with any of them. ;) We turned around and left early the next morning.

Jon’s mom and Aunt Mary really know how to host a party! It doesn’t get any better than a personal chef, free-flowing champagne, and great company. But as fun as it was, I’m glad to be home. I’m all for parties and visiting, but after the weather and those plane rides, I just want to put on sweats and fall asleep.

Poor Jon had to wake up early and do it all again yesterday morning, but this time he was headed to West Palm Beach. His dad planned a “bachelor weekend,”  so the two of them, some of Jon’s groomsmen, and some other family and friends headed down to Florida to golf and catch the Mets at spring training.

I have to be honest–the whole bachelor weekend idea really bothers me. I know there’s no reason for me to feel that way, and that I’m being a little irrational. And I’m not sure why. Maybe it bothers me that guys seem to think they need to get together and celebrate being single for a weekend. Or maybe it’s because I think it’s a little unfair. I won’t get a bachelorette weekend–my bridesmaids are still students, have or are having kids, or work at nonprofits, and they can’t afford to travel any more than they already are for the wedding. Or maybe it’s because I would have liked to get away to Florida for the weekend too. Yes, I know there aren’t supposed to be girls at a bachelor party (although apparently one is going), but it would have been nice to be invited. I could definitely use a weekend on the beach.

But I think the real reason I’m still upset now is that Jon knew that I didn’t like him going, and he went along with it anyway. Is marriage going to be like that?

So this must be the other side of engagement and wedding planning–the one that you don’t read about in bridal magazines and wedding blogs. I usually try to keep  my blog light and fun, because who wants to read someone whine and rant about the tough stuff? But wedding planning isn’t one great blend of colors and flowers, gifts, and food tastings. Behind the fun video chats with bridesmaids and the excitement of our friends and family, I’ve been confused, disappointed, and frustrated many times throughout this journey. It’s a LOT of work, and much of that work isn’t fun.

In the end, I know I’ll take the advice from Dr. Bleedingheart and get over it. And all that work, those disappointments, and the frustrations will pay off on April 30. It will, right?

Leave a Reply

