The veil.

Hi friends :)

Sorry for being MIA this week–I’ve been a bit preoccupied (if you’re wondering why, see my last post). But for the moment, I’m going to put that aside and focus on the wedding–that’s happening in 98 days! We’re into double-digits now…wow! So much to do, but I think we’re in a good place.

But there is at least one last detail that I need to nail down: the veil.

At first, I didn’t want a veil at all. I wanted everything to be simple and low key, no frills or fuss (but after the past few months, I think it must be impossible to have a low key wedding!) After a while, I started to worry that without a veil, I’d just be a woman in a white dress. So I decided to give them a try.

When I tried on wedding gowns, I tried on a few traditional veils too. But no matter the length or design, nothing felt quite right. I didn’t feel like a bride in those. And I definitely didn’t want this bubble veil.

So when I visited my maid of honor, Ms. Keylime, in Minnesota back in October, I started looking at birdcage veils with fascinators (that’s the flower or pendant part connected to the veil). I have never been to a wedding where the bride wore a birdcage veil, but I’ve seen a million photos of them all over the wedding blogs–and I LOVE the look. This contemporary trend has such a vintage-inspired feel and is perfect for my dress and our wedding. But finding the right one has been tough! I don’t want to cover my entire face with a veil, and most of the veils I come across have WAY too much fabric to be simple.

I found a great birdcage veil at a consignment boutique when I was in Minnesota, but I wasn’t sure about it at the time, so Ms. Keylime went back to check it out again. She sent me this photo yesterday:

I still think it’s beautiful and would look great with my dress. The champagne and ivory are a perfect match for our color palette! The only problem? The veil and fascinator are sold separately, and together, they cost about $200! That seems a bit much for me.

But yesterday I also found another great veil/fascinator on–where else?–etsy. Sold by Velvet Owl, this fascinator combines peach flowerettes, lace, pearl pendants, and feathers. It sounds like it’s a bit much, but together I think it’s beautiful. And it will be paired with a simple pearl-and-ruby necklace and earring set, so the veil might be the right place to have a bit of flair. Take a look for yourself:

Veil

The best part? Only $60. It looks great on this model with dark hair, but do you think it would work on a blonde?

3 Comments to “The veil.”

  1. beautiful!!!! and it could still be folded back :)

  2. gorgeous! i love it! you might also want to check out “Lo Boheme” – they have really beautiful accessories and seem to be affordable.

    http://www.loboheme.com/

Leave a Reply

