Finding the bridesmaids dresses…

Originally, I was hoping to find dresses in a neutral champagne/gold color (I had been planning on doing everything in champagne, ivory, and black, with splashes of bright, vibrant color in the flowers and a few other places). I still love that idea, but when three of my maids came shopping with me, they all loved this dress in this color:

JHplum

I’m on board with what Jim Hjelm calls “plum” (although it’s more like eggplant–almost black). And since Jon wants the guys to wear tuxes, I think this dress would compliment them well. So I had settled on having the girls wear this dress and using orangey-red calla lillies, which would make Jon the happiest groom ever (and surrounded by Virginia Tech colors).

Well, then something else came up–I have a pregnant bridesmaid!

This news is super exciting!  And the mom- and dad-to-be are very happy about this, which is fantastic. Congratulations to Ms. E! I can’t wait for the baby. :)

But in the meantime, I have to figure out what to do about the dresses!  I could stick with the plum Jim Hjelm dress for everyone and find something similar for Elizabeth–which is probably the easiest thing to do. But then again, this has given me a good excuse to rethink everything! So I’ve been looking around and having fun with it.

Now I’m thinking of switching everything up, giving the girls a color palette and letting them pick there own dresses in different colors and styles. I’ve always loved this idea, and with a pregnant bridesmaid, I think it makes so much sense. The Green Wedding Shoes Blog has some great examples here. We could do something like this: 

maidsdresses

Vera Wang has a good selection of dresses in color families. I still like the color champagne, and she has a few that a similar (called cafe, antique gold, and sand dune). If she does maternity dresses, we’d be set! I like these:

biscuitdresscafedresschampagnedress

golddressnutmegdresscafedress2

So who knows what we’ll end up doing. I’m also thinking of using lighter colors, like yellow or peach. I love the elegance of the champagne colors, but since we’re thinking about incorporating pinwheels into our wedding (more about that later), I might like something more fun and flirty. For now, I’m keeping my eyes open and looking for something amazing.

One Comment to “Finding the bridesmaids dresses…”

  1. Love the look of the girls in the lace dresses with the bride in that photo! So original!!

Leave a Reply

