We've been busy, I swear!

Okay, I’m making a resolution to get this blog going full swing! Jon and I have been uber busy–we moved my stuff back to NC, I’ve been job searching, his parents were in town, it was my mom’s birthday, etc. But now that things have settled down and bit–and I’m completely bored at my new job–I think it’s time to get things rolling!

We haven’t been that dismissive: We’ve booked a day-of wedding director, we hired the photographer we met in our last post (yep, she’s the only one we even met with!), and I’ve found my wedding dress!

Our wedding director is Jo–and she’s fabulous.  When I called to confirm our meeting at the local Starbucks, she said, “you can’t miss me, I’m old.” Well, I wouldn’t call her old, but she has been in the busy for quite a few years! And she’s done several weddings at Graylyn, so she knows exactly what she’s doing. Sweet!

The photographers we hired are just as fantastic as Jo.  We hired Cheyenne Schultz, the woman we mentioned in our last blog. The best part is, she’s part of a husband-wife team, so her husband Jeff hang out with Jon and the guys and get photos of them playing golf while Cheyenne stays with us. I stalk her blog religiously–their photos are so inspiring!  I’m so happy with our vendors so far.

And of course, the dress.  Jon’s parents came to visit the first weekend in August, and his mom joined my mom, Regan, Elizabeth and me on the hunt for the dress.  I swear, I must have tried on twenty different dresses!  In the end, it came down to the original two I was considering: the Christos Maribel and the Amsale Coco. I won’t link the Amsale one, since it’s the one I settled on and Jon doesn’t want to see it (but you can google it, if you’re that interested). ;)  Of course, now that I’ve ordered the dress, I wish I had purchased the other one! But they are both so beautiful, and I’d be happy with either.  I’m going to try to find someone who can make a shorter cocktail version of the Christos so I can wear it the rehearsal dinner.

Speaking of rehearsal dinners, Wedding Director Jo suggested we hold it at Bridger Field House–as in the venue overlooking Wake Forest’s football field!  Jon is ALL for it. Can you imagine looking out at this view with the wedding party??
Bridger Field House

Leave a Reply

